Music is Indispensable Science, Saudi Columnist Says

Standard

Okaz columnist Khalaf al-Harbi comments on the debate about music at Saudi schools:

I believe the Ministry of Education will make one of the biggest mistakes in its history if it does not introduce such classes in schools. All over the world, schools teach music to students, except in Saudi Arabia. It is difficult to believe that those schools are wrong and we are right.

I know that I will receive an avalanche of criticisms from the majority of people who will read my article because I believe music is an indispensable science for human beings.

But it brings me solace that 99 percent of readers who attack me now have played a major role in making Arabic satellite channels that air music clips popular. Today, the music market in our country is one of the largest in the Middle East, thanks to those readers.

